Skip to main content Skip to site footer


A report from Wednesday's first FEP fixture

20 April 2022

The Northampton Town Football and Education Programme NFYL South Central Championship Squad won 5-1 at home to Peterborough United on Wednesday.

Bradley Cheshire scored four and Archie O’Donnell scored the Cobblers’ other goal as they defeated their rivals in their penultimate fixture of the season.

The hosts opened the scoring with just four minutes on the clock when Cheshire went through one-on-one, hit the post and fired the rebound into the empty net.

Their opponents almost responded after 20 minutes, but a fierce drive was well-saved by Brad Timlin at the near post.

However, it was the Cobblers who scored the second goal 10 minutes before the break when Bailey Giles shrugged off a defender and played the ball across goal for O’Donnell to tap home from close range.

Cheshire smashed his second and his side’s third into the back of the net from James Lewis’ pass late in the first half.

Peterborough threatened midway through the second period after a slow start to the half. A shot from just inside the area was blocked, and the follow-up header looped onto the crossbar.

The hosts hit the bar themselves moments later, Jahdai Smith squaring for fellow substitute Kenny Kwarteng, whose effort was tipped onto the woodwork.

The frame of the Cobblers’ goal was rattled twice more late on, when a shot crashed against the bar and a header hit the base of the post within minutes of each other.

But Cheshire completed his hat-trick with just over five minutes left, finishing on the turn from the edge of the box.

The forward added his fourth in similar fashion to make sure of the three points soon after, despite a Peterborough consolation sneaking in at the front post in the final minute of normal time.

Tom Ash’s side end their campaign at home to Chelsea next week.

Cobblers: Brad Timlin, Elliot Balchin-Love, Max Hust, Jed Roberts, Alfie Leivars, Nico Mountford-Hill, Bailey Giles, James Lewis, Bradley Cheshire, Callum Law, Archie O’Donnell
Substitutes: Harry Francis-Jones, Niall Donaghy, Kenny Kwarteng, Jahdai Smith, Lorenco Soullolari

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account