Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


17 March 2016

Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards shortlist to be announced

Goals from each of the 72 Football League clubs are in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2016.

Channel 5’s Football League Tonight show will this weekend reveal which 10 goals from the list will now be put forward for a fan vote.  The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs form across Football League competitions in 2015/16 will be shown by George Riley and Kelly Cates on the Channel 5 programme on Saturday evening, along with details of how fans can vote for their favourite.

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2015/16 as their own ‘Mitre Goal of the Year’ for the competition.  The 10 best strikes have been selected to make the cut, with the fan vote then helping to decide the final shortlist of 5 goals.

The Cobblers nomination was John-Joe O'Toole's goal at Luton Town in December.

Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award include Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2015), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2014), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2013), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011).

The overall winner of the best goal from 2015/16 will be decided at the Football League Awards which take place at Manchester Central on Sunday, 17th April, 2016.

For more about the Football League Awards visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account