Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 April 2015

Choose your top Cobbler

With the games running out and summer approaching, it’s that time again where you, the fans, can vote for your Chronicle & Echo Cobblers Supporters’ player of the year for the 2014-15 season.

It has been a season full of incident and goals for Chris Wilder’s men, who go into the final two games of the campaign still with an outside chance of grabbing a place in the Sky Bet League 2 promotion play-offs.

Midfielder Darren Carter was the man who got your vote last term, as he helped inspire the Cobblers to an end-of-season surge that ensured they avoided relegation from the Football League.

There has been no such relegation scare this time around, and there are plenty of contenders to collect this season’s gong, and here are a few suggestions.

Starting with the defence, Matt Duke has been a solid presence in goal, Brendon Moloney has been a real find at right-back since his switch from Yeovil Town in January, while central defenders Ryan Cresswell and Lee Collins have caught the eye.

In midfield, Ricky Holmes has shown what he is all about after making the switch from Portsmouth at the turn of the year, Joel Byrom and Jason Taylor have formed an excellent central partnership, and Lawson D’Ath has impressed in his first full season as a professional.

Up top, Marc Richards is the club’s top scorer with 18 goals despite a spell out following an Achilles operation, while there has been fantastic support from teenager Ivan Toney, who has scored 10 times in his first campaign as a first teamer.

But ultimately, who will be named the Chronicle & Echo Cobblers Supporters’ Player of the Year is down to you, the people who watch the team play.

The winner will be presented with his award on the Sixfields pitch ahead of the club’s final regular league game of the season against Wycombe Wanderers on Saturday, May 2.

To cast your vote, simply email

Please title your email ‘Cobblers Player of the Year’ and then add your nomination.

Can you also please include your name, and a daytime telephone number.

Closing date for nominations is 5pm on Tuesday, April 28, so please get voting!

1975 Billy Best
1976 Jim Hall
1977 Billy Best
1978 Steve Bryant
1979 Stuart Robertson
1980 Andy Poole
1981 Keith Williams
1982 Wakeley Gage
1983 Steve Massey
1984 Wakeley Gage
1985 Wakeley Gage
1986 Russell Lewis
1987 Ian Benjamin
1988 Peter Gleasure
1989 Tony Adcock
1990 Keith McPherson
1991 Phil Chard
1992 Steve Terry
1993 Barry Richardson
1994 Darren Harmon
1995 Neil Grayson
1996 Ray Warburton
1997 Ian Clarkson
1998 Roy Hunter
1999 Carlo Corazzin
2000 Keith Welch
2001 Ian Sampson
2002 Chris Hargreaves
2003 Paul Harsley
2004 Lee Harper
2005 Scott McGleish
2006 Scott McGleish
2007 Mark Bunn
2008 Danny Jackman
2009 Danny Jackman
2010 Adebayo Akinfenwa
2011 Michael Jacobs
2012 Michael Jacobs
2013 Kelvin Langmead
2014 Darren Carter

Advertisement block